Introducing Candice!

Hi All,

Just wanted to post an introduction and get the hang of how to use this forum!

If you haven’t guessed by now, my name is Candice 🙂

I am one of four interns completing ‘Research Project A’ this semester, along with Alexandra, Emma and Nicholas, and I look forward to hearing what they are working on. I’m based in Sydney, have a background in science and am almost 2/3 of the way through the MEM. My project will be focused on whether rainwater tanks are used efficiently with in Sydney.

I started the MEM for several reasons, including my passion for environmental issues and my desire for a new job. I’m hoping to combine these two reasons and find a job where I can do something about the environmental issues. So far I’ve found that community education and consultation are incredibly important, and would ideally like to work in that field… I think.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Alex Auhl says:

    Hi Candice,

    Great topic!

    Did you know that in the Western States of the US (Utah, Washington and Colorado) it is illegal to have your own rainwater tank? It is considered an unlawful diversion of rainwater. Can you imagine?

    Cheers,
    Alexandra

    1. candicej says:

      Hey Alex,

      No I didn’t know that! Maybe it’s similar to people using water from the rivers to irrigate their land, and there not being enough water downstream? Thanks for the interesting information 🙂

Leave a Reply

